Nexology Community
 
     
 
   

Go Back   Nexology Community > Support Zone > Server and Policy Issues > Plesk Linux Servers > Leo Issues and Announcements (Alpha/Delta)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2009, 08:27 PM   #1
Registered User
 
BillSamuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 1,190
Unhappy Leo mail being blocked as spam by many domains

I sent a mailing to a list today from the Leo mail server, and it bounced from 19 different domains on the basis of the IP being identified with spam. Among the services blocking Leo as a spam server are Spamhaus and Barracuda.
__________________
Bill Samuel, Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
WebServant, QuakerInfo.com, FriendsinChrist.net, seamless-garment.org, BillSamuel.net
BillSamuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 09:17 PM   #2
Registered User
 
buteverde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Same here

Also for us. Mail from myself to Marjorie has always worked with no problem. Today it was blocked as Bill says.

This would be from Horde at bytebackonline on Leo (Delta) to her address at earthlink.

There was a "blockedbyearthlink" email address in the blocked data which I sent a query to. This resulted in an automatic reply. In the body of that reply was some interesting stuff about plugging my IP into several links given to see if I am identified as a spammer.

Then there was some info about SMTP authorization being turned on. This led me to search for a way to do that in Plesk or in Horde. Couldn't find it.

I think my IP may be dynamically assigned by Comcast. How can I be sure of this?

And WHAT changed?
__________________
Best to you . . .
buteverde
buteverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 09:44 PM   #3
Registered User
 
BillSamuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 1,190
This is the message I got from HN Support to the ticket I put in:

Quote:
We have located the spam originating account and disabled the vulnerable scripts.

We have issued a black list removal request to all known black listing, server IP would be delisted from all the RBLs within 24 hours.
__________________
Bill Samuel, Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
WebServant, QuakerInfo.com, FriendsinChrist.net, seamless-garment.org, BillSamuel.net
BillSamuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2009, 09:56 PM   #4
Registered User
 
buteverde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Thank you, Bill.

Still leaves me wondering about IP addresses. What you quote implies (I think) that there was someone spamming from an account on LEO. That would mean that it wasn't my own IP address that was being blocked. (?)

I did find my own IP address listed on the PBL191964 database.

What is the server IP?
__________________
Best to you . . .
buteverde
buteverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 06:22 AM   #5
Registered User
 
BillSamuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 1,190
The IP being blacklisted, according to some of the bounces I received, is 69.72.158.34
__________________
Bill Samuel, Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
WebServant, QuakerInfo.com, FriendsinChrist.net, seamless-garment.org, BillSamuel.net
BillSamuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 08:50 AM   #6
Registered User
 
buteverde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Yep, that's our server.
__________________
Best to you . . .
buteverde
buteverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 03:41 PM   #7
Registered User
 
BillSamuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 1,190
Everyone on Leo uses the same mail server
__________________
Bill Samuel, Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
WebServant, QuakerInfo.com, FriendsinChrist.net, seamless-garment.org, BillSamuel.net
BillSamuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 09:23 PM   #8
Registered User
 
buteverde's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Doylestown, PA
Posts: 93
Well, thanks to HN Support and to you Bill. The emails to Marjorie at earthlink are no longer being blocked.

Bill, have you tried resending to those that were bounced to you?
__________________
Best to you . . .
buteverde
buteverde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2009, 09:34 PM   #9
Registered User
 
BillSamuel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Maryland USA
Posts: 1,190
No, this was to a list using Dada Mail. So I can't really send selectively.
__________________
Bill Samuel, Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
WebServant, QuakerInfo.com, FriendsinChrist.net, seamless-garment.org, BillSamuel.net
BillSamuel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2009, 04:15 AM   #10
HN Top Canine
 
NexDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Nexus
Posts: 13,328
A client got hit with a Gumblar style virus and about 10 domains were hacked and spam sent out. We have changed the mail IP so shouldn't be listed now.
__________________
Laurence - [HostNexus Administrator]

- Need Support? Quickest reponses are found at the Support Helpdesk!
- Stay in touch! Make sure you are subscribed to our Lists.
NexDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
leo, server, spam


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1
Copyright ©2001 - 2009, HostNexus